Shota Sushi & Grill

IMG_1604

Summer without summer courses means 1) I get to LIVE, and 2) biking around because I have no bus pass and my fare savers are almost all used up.

I haven’t actually biked in a few years, though. I took summer school both semesters last year, so I always had a bus pass. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I decided to suck it up and break into our unused dungeon garage. The bikes are stored there, and I wanted to bike, and I haven’t mentioned this but there place is practically a storehouse for cobwebs. I took a rake from the back yard storage area and waved it around in front of me as I twitch-danced my way towards the bikes. I still managed to get my feet tangled in a few cobwebs but I fortunately felt the place was devoid of rats. I grabbed the nearest bike and lugged it outside, where I spent the next little while cleaning it on very dead backyard grass while my pup watched me.

I provided the bikes; F pumped the tires.

The day he arrived, we set off for lunch in Kerrisdale, looking for sushi.

Ajisai was closed. Asa Sushi had a line out the door. Shota Sushi & Grill, which neither of us had been to before, seemed a suitable third-choice. We popped in and were met by a small line and a Cantonese waitress mostly ignoring it.

Above the sushi station were a series of signed photos and signatures from famous athletes thanking Shota for the “best sushi.” That got me excited!

The service consisted of mostly unfriendly service where guests were ignored for large chunks of time until they ordered.

IMG_1578

IMG_1576

We sat outside to watch our bikes, which my mother had made me paranoid of losing.

We set about ordering. I chose from the lunch special menu, which included salad, a special roll, miso soup, and a side.

IMG_1588

The peanut sauce on the salad was a little too much. As I neared the end, I found the lettuce to soggy and weird to finish.

IMG_1591

F ordered some sashimi, which he said was decent.

My side choice was a seared beef dish, which attracted a wasp (wasps love beef). I am terrified of bees, and I should have expected them given we were in a semi-residential neighbourhood, but I forgot about them and unfortunately F suffered for it.

I have no funny story here. I just, um, didn’t deal very well.

In hopes the wasp would lose interest, I scarfed down the beef. It basically worked, and we ate the rest of our meals in relative peace… Constant Vigilance aside.

IMG_1592

We had different waiters stop by and ended up getting four waters. If you were wondering.

The seared beef was okay. Sweet and flavourful, but a bit soggy.

IMG_1594

Agedashi tofu. Eh.

IMG_1599

I ordered the dragon roll, which is a prawn tempura roll topped with avocado, eel, and roe.

The piece are bite-sized and smaller than I’m used to, and only three out of seven had any avocado topping. The eel, however, was perfectly grilled–not soggy as I sometimes find it to be done–and made the textures of soft avocado, crunchy eel, and chewy dynamite roll blend in an appealing way.

IMG_1600

Overall, Shota’s food is okay. You pay a little bit more than what it’s worth, but at a little less than $13, the lunch special is a good choice for variety and portioning. Certainly don’t fall for the signed pictures of (my favourite) hockey players and speed skaters promoting Shota as one of the best spots to get sushi in Vancouver, as you can get much better food at Asa or Ajisai in Kerrisdale alone. Go in knowing what to expect!

Cheers,

Miriam

Click to add a blog post for Shota Sushi & Grill on Zomato

One response to “Shota Sushi & Grill

Leave a Reply

