Lunch at The Fish Counter

NOTE: I wrote this blog post almost four months ago, and for whatever reason never hit send. This is a warning sign saying to watch out for mentions of Spring and other non-Summery singularities.

Finally made the time to try The Fish Counter out. It’s in the neighbourhood, so I didn’t really have an excuse not to, other than the whole “but there’s so many place to try in Vancouver blah blah blah.” Anyway, I’m glad I finally went! And on a perfect spring day, too. Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

While The Fish Counter serves up tasty meals, they’re big on selling products for pick-up. Think candied salmon, salsa, and a variety of fresh fish cuts.Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The Fish Counter’s big thing is sustainable seafood. Hard-core Oceanwise member, as far as I’m aware.

I had a while to poke around, as F had overslept his bus stop and had to walk from Fraser back to Main street.

By the time he arrived, I had narrowed down my lunch choices to the seafood chowder, the fish tacos, and the crab & shrimp sandwich.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I decided on the dairy-free chowder and the fish tacos, because the chowder was small and I can never resist fish tacos.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Hardcore fans of traditional clam chowder might be a bit turned off by the Fish Counter’s dairy-free version, but I really loved it. It wasn’t as thick and creamy as regular clam chowder (though it is thickened with potatoes), obviously, but it’s chock full of decent-sized fish chunks and has lots of clams, veggies, and other good-for-yous. If you’re feeling adventurous or are lactose intolerant, definitely give it a go!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Next was the fish tacos. I LOVE fish tacos. More specifically, I love Tacofino’s fish tacos. So fresh, flavourful… crispy but not rough… great textures from the salsa, tortilla, and tempura-battered fish.

It’s hard to imagine a better fish taco than the ones at Tacofino, but I was really curious to see if the Fish Counter measured up.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

In the end, I thought it was a really solid fish taco. Right up my alley! But I feel like Tacofino’s fish tacos just taste a bit more alive, if that makes sense. The Fish Counter’s were not as good as Tacofino’s, but better than La Taqueria’s (two prominent taco establishments in Vancouver). But that’s just my opinion!

Still, Fish Counter offers good fish tacos and I’d definitely order them again in a heartbeat.

F ordered the fish and chips, which they’re well known for. I’ve heard that the Fish Counter offers the best fish ‘n chips in town, and F thought they were delicious. Unfortunately, I forgot to both take a snap of them and have a bite myself (I wasn’t in a fish ‘n chips mood, anyway). I’ll just take his word for it!

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

The Fish Counter is a great spot to grab a quick bite, or some sustainably caught fish. It’s not meant for dining, but if you’re in the area and shopping at Strategies Games & Hobbies or the wonderful consignment/knick knack store Front and Company, stop by for a bite to eat! On a sunny day, it’s the perfect lunch for a fun day on Main Street.

–Miriam

Click to add a blog post for The Fish Counter on Zomato

Leave a Reply

