Oregon Trip: Pok Pok

I’ll get back to my regularly scheduled programming soon.

Shortly after exams ended, some friends and I went to Oregon for a small trip! I’ve already posted about the Japanese Gardens, which are stunning on a bright and sunny day. Make sure to stop by if you’re in Portland–it’s a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city.

But back to the beginning of our trip!

On the first day that we arrived, we crashed at Clackamas mall before going to our airbnb location. Our host, Kate, was friendly, and provided a lot of valuable amenities for our 5-person troupe. Though we had a small kitchen, we were tired from spending hours in the car and didn’t want to spend energy cooking food. Instead, we decided to go out that night to Pok Pok.

Pok Pok is located on SE Division street, which looks like a popular spot for trendy food and boutique knick knack stores.

IMG_1084

We had a fifteen minute wait before our table was ready, so we popped into Otsu, a small stationery store across the street with tons of cute cards, calendars, and soaps. F bought me my camera-charm necklace there. I don’t think I’m much of a photographer, but he’s long since gotten used to me whipping my camera out to document our everyday, our adventures, and of course our food. Sweet, isn’t it?

You can see the necklace hanging around my neck in any of the pictures I’m in throughout our Oregon trip.

IMG_1085

Next to Otsu was She Bop (?), a female-friendly sex store.

We returned to Pok Pok and our table was ready. The restaurant is a lot bigger than it looks, and like practically all restaurants in Portland, it has a very distinct vibe that makes it unique to any other place around.

IMG_1103

IMG_1086

IMG_1089

First time in many many years that I’ve seen a chopstick tutorial on a chopstick wrapper. F says they’re all over the place back in BC–maybe I’m just blind? Or I don’t eat as much casual sushi as he does…

We ordered four dishes between the five of us, plus individual rice packets: a skewer plate (tasty with the sauce!), a spicy glass noodle dish called Sunny’s yam wun sen chao wang, the whole bird kai yaang, and a prawn & bean thread noodle dish called kung op wun sen.

IMG_1090

I’m so bad with spiciness, but through the burn, I found Sunny’s yam wun sen chao wang to be delicious! If you’re used to spicy foods, the spice is really not that bad. I’m just kind of pathetic.

IMG_1094

IMG_1095

The kai yaang was apparently the inspiration for Pok Pok, which is now a chain restaurant across America. It also demands that you get the sticky rice to go with it, which we did. Good stuff.

IMG_1099

The sticky rice. It was wrapped in plastic, which I found curious. It was a novelty for sure, but out of its wrapping you could taste hints of plastic flavour in the rice.

IMG_1102

Overall, we enjoyed Pok Pok. It’s up there in terms of Thai comfort food… for non-Thai people, anyway. We’re not Thai, and we didn’t grow up with Thai food, so who knows what someone who knows Thai food in and out would say. But that’s the first thing that came to mind, while I was thinking about my experience: comfort food. And for that, I’d recommend Pok Pok.

More Portland posts coming soon!

Cheers,

Miriam

3 responses to “Oregon Trip: Pok Pok

  1. Pingback: Oregon Trip: Little Big Burger | milkandthoughtbubbles·

  2. Pingback: Portland, 2016: Day One | milkandthoughtbubbles·

  3. Pingback: A Weekend Trip to Mt. Hood (feat. Portland. Again.): Part One | milkandthoughtbubbles·

Leave a Reply

