Christmas Gathering

It’s Christmas month. I know this because whenever the season rolls around, something in my body clicks and I begin to consume copious amounts of chocolate. I have, in fact, had chocolate every day before breakfast for the past eighteen days–thanks in part to my Advent Calendar. I have also eaten chocolate after breakfast. And in between lunch and dinner. Of course, my desserts usually have chocolate in them, so that way I sneak a bit in before bed as well. It’s a wonder I haven’t become diabetic yet.

Just this morning I snacked on some of the chocolate bark AW gave us at the Christmas party we had a couple nights back. Milk and white chocolate decorated with christmas tree sprinkles and peppermint chunks. So good! All while prepping a batch of chocolate chip cookies from Top With Cinnamon’s new cookbook.

Speaking of the Christmas party–that was fun. Sweet, nostalgic, and cozy. We haven’t been able to see each other as much since we graduated high school (and now, in a year and a half or two, we’ll be graduating university), so I’m really glad that the few of us that are in Vancouver could get together to munch on food and enjoy each other’s company. That, and play Just Dance. Bang Bang is glorious–though not as epic as the Tetris dance. It’s also my dream that they make a dance out of Baby Metal’s Gimme Choco… so there’s that too. (I just can’t get enough of chocolate, can I?!)

Here’s a little peek at our dinner the other night. Group pictures are either from V or K.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

IMG_6768

Sparkling apple & pomegranate juice isn’t exactly boozing it up, but it is good.

IMG_6772

Potluck dinner. Not pictured is JC’s chicken, which was still being steamed over in the kitchen.Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

IMG_6773

Vivian’s homemade mango pudding! Delicious.

IMG_6780

The Swedish chocolate cake I made.

IMG_6782

BOOOOOOO!! HRRHRRHRRRR.

IMG_6787

AW’s Christmassy chocolate bark!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

If you’re like me and Christmas is a family-oriented time of year, remember to still make down time for your friends this holiday season! All six of us here have known each other for fifteen to sixteen years, and a cozy get together was perfect for this busy holiday season.

To our friends near and far–some of you, very far–to the rest of our loves ones, and to you readers, of course: we wish you a Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

–Miriam

Leave a Reply

