Guest Post: Christy’s Goodbye

One of our best friends, Christy, has recently left for a year-long adventure in Singapore. Her 3rd year exchange will mean us missing her for an entire year, and I know you’re reading this, so: Christy, remember that we expect updates on your time abroad with blog posts of your own!

It’s hard to imagine a whole year. You’ll be missed, C.

(Before Christy left, I had spoken to her about guest blogging here on Milk & Thought Bubbles. Happily, she agreed to. So, without further ado, here is today’s blog post, brought to you by Christy)

To say that we are simply best friends is an understatement so this is a letter from me to you,

My family,               

Watching us grow up together for the better part of our lives has made me realize how fortunate I am to have you guys. We aren’t the typical girls who are best friends because they share so much in common, in fact, none of us are really alike. The seven of us have our own unique personalities and interests, yet somehow, this heptagonal friendship of ours works so beautifully.

It has been two years since we all began this next chapter of our lives. Some of us have begun to piece together our future, some of us are still in search of a passion, but what I have come to understand is that there is no point in hurrying. In focusing so much on trying to distinguish a path that leads us to our future, we neglect all that is happening around us, in the present. Our perspectives are narrowed, and we forget to appreciate so many of the little things in life that make up who we are. Girls, what I am trying to tell you, and myself, is to not forget to live our lives in the midst of everything else. While so many others are rushing to get to the finish line, they lose the opportunity to make their life an exciting story, and maybe that’s okay for them, but is that what we want?

If you want your life to be a magnificent story, then begin by realizing you are the author and every day you have the opportunity to write a new page.

And while you are writing that magnificent story of yours, there will be achievements and happy memories, but there will be downfalls and times when you wish you could just give up (all of us are quite the big worrywarts). In those times, trust yourself, trust that you will get through it. And don’t bottle it up inside you, there are six amazing girls that you can vent your worries out to.

We have no idea what our futures hold for us. Where will we be? What will we be doing? Who will be our Prince Charmings? The only part of the future we can control is the present. So try new things. I know we have been trying, but never stop to seize opportunities. Like the saying goes “Sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

I do not know when the next time the seven of us are together in one place will be, but what I do know is that we all hold each other very dearly in our hearts. I wrote this letter as an attempt to pass on some life optimism (as many of our talks have digressed into grim conversations about the future), but it is mainly a letter to celebrate our friendship. To celebrate the genuine care and trust we have in each other. To celebrate the memories we have created together. And to celebrate being a part of each other’s journey, in the past, and in the future.

I am off to Singapore, and I thought it would be fitting to give this to you guys as I leave. When I come back, we will all be a year wiser, a year richer of experiences and stories, but inside we will still be the same. I don’t believe our ‘inner children’ will ever leave us, and that is what I love about us. This year, promise me you will make your stories exciting, and I will do the same (I know I’m at a slight advantage…). I look forward to listening about your daily rambles and the highlights of your week.

Will miss you all dearly,

Lots of love,

Christy

P.S If you want a life movie, watch The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.

P.P.S Walter Mitty: To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life. 

tumblr_myretwUORR1qcun5go5_1280

One response to “Guest Post: Christy’s Goodbye

Leave a Reply

